The Liebster Award Nomination

liebster2My blog was recently nominated for The Liebster Award by the author of twomventures Michelle Murray: a friend from California, who now lives in Cambodia. Her blog is terrific with great posts like It’s Raining Tigers & Elephants.  You’ll feel like you’ve stood on a street in Phnom Penh.  Thank you, M2.

What is The Liebster Award? 
 The Liebster Award is a chance for smaller blogs to promote and endorse other great small blogs!

Here’s the deal: 
My “nomination” came with a list of 11 questions for me to answer. 
Next I choose up to 11 other small blogs to bestow a Liebster 
and create a list of 11 questions for them to answer as their own Liebster acceptance.

Here are my answers:

1.  What is your favorite season, and activity for that season?  I enjoy something in every season, but Autumn trumps all because of reaping fall harvests (persimmons, pumpkins and figs), long walks on crisp cool days, and celebrating my birthday.

2.  If you could interview anyone who would it be and where would you conduct the interview?  The list would be long and would include mostly fictional characters like Boromir and Captain Mal Reynolds; biblical like Caleb, Isaiah, Philip, and Jesus; dead like Richard III, Einstein, Steve Jobs, Ernest Hemingway, and Shakespeare; living like Joss Whedon, Harper Lee, and President Obama.

Today I’m not in a talkative mood so I would choose to interview To Kill A Mockingbird’s Atticus Finch on the front porch of his home in Maycomb, Alabama and watch his world pass by.

3.  Which Bible character do you most relate to?  Jonah.  I need a good reason to start something difficult, then I spend too much time running from it and then whine when it doesn’t resolve as I think it should.

4.  What inspires you the most?  People who work from their passion, and the Creator who fashions worlds in Kentucky pole beans.

5.  What places are on your list to visit?  In no particular order: Ukraine (home of my grandmother’s family), the pyramids of Egypt, the Great Wall of China, Machu Picchu, Uruguay beach cities, Guernsey Island, the Danube, Norwegian Fjords, South Carolina state parks, and Whidbey Island.

6.  What were you like in High School?  Uh, what did I think I was like or how did others see me?  I hated Middle School, but High School was wonderful.  I was a theater geek, finally found science and math interesting rather than impenetrable, had a great group of friends, biked frequently around the coast to the lighthouse at Portuguese Bend, and discovered Shakespeare.  I’ve recently been in touch with a close friend from high school who had this memory: I had a flashback to lunch in the caf with you and your ramrod straight posture dabbing a napkin to your mouth, and someone from the track team was attempting to ask you out and your response…I’m busy this summer… So apparently I acted a bit posh and was sometimes rude.

7.  What/who made you want to write/blog?  As soon as chicken tracks on paper turned into words, I’ve wanted to write.  Authors bring me into their worlds and take me on incredible adventures.  As a writer, it’s always a great day when I’ve put words on paper and lie dreaming of what comes next.

8.  What is your Dream Job?  What I did in engineering was often a dream job, and I have no regrets in starting there.  What I’m doing now—writing—is my dream job.

9.  If you could go back to college, would you change your degree if so to what?  I have degrees in Engineering and English, and wouldn’t change that.  I started with a degree in physical anthropology, and wished I’d completed the coursework to minor in it.  The mechanization of bones tells its own story.

10.  What piece of advice would you give a younger you?  Stop.  Look.  Breathe.  Take a different ferry from Zanzibar.

11.  What is your all time favorite movie? Fellowship of the Ring.  Movies I watch over and over?  Emma, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Holiday, Stranger Than Fiction, Dave, Notting Hill, While You Were Sleeping, Die Hard 3&4, My Cousin Vinny, Frequency, Finding Forrester, Laws of Attraction, The Secret Garden, Mary Poppins, Support Your Local Sheriff, Feds, Miracles (Tom Conti), The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, and Jumpin’ Jack Flash.

My Nominations are:

pendrifter: Debra Young keeps me accountable and is responsible for me finally creatingliebster2 a blog.  Her blog’s been around since 2007, and I love the artwork and elegant writing.

My favorite post is: My strawberry tea cake and crafting plot

REDESIGNING49: Although Julie and I have never met face-to-face, she joined my NaNoWriMo cohort when she lived in New Zealand.  I especially enjoy her posts on liebster2traveling, knitting stores in Norway, and hiking.

My favorite post is: Pulpit Rock Challenge

Kristy’s Stories: Kristy is my guest in my September 2013 First Friday Breakfast with an Author post.  Her blog has proved to be a treasure trove for indie publishing resources.  Iliebster2 look forward to the excerpt previews of her books that appear in posts.

My favorite post is: An Amazing List of Helpful Sites for Indies

Fergus the Forager: I’m not sure his blog falls in the small category, but his writing on foraging in the UK was not only the inspiration for work-in-progress Fathers in theliebster2 Moor, but propelled me into dabbling in foraging in suburban environs, if only for dandelions in the lawn and a windfall orange.

My favorite post is: Stars in the Hedgerow, Chickens in Trees, And Flying Horses

DR. DEBRA HOLLAND – BLOG: Debra and I belong to the same writers’ group (OC Fictionaires).  Along with Amanda Hocking, she provided great data on her early days of liebster2indie publishing—both had encouraging success stories in their genres (romance, paranormal).  The post I listed below inspired me to take the dive, but I’d recommend checking out her posts on Superstorm Sandy too.

My favorite post: Self-Publishing: One Year’s Results

Flight of the Red Dragonfly: Rebecca is one of my beta-readers.  I appreciate the keen insight into writing that she exemplifies in her blog.liebster2

My favorite post is: Character Archetypes: The Banished Prince

Nominee Questions:

  1. What do you miss most about kindergarten?
  2. Who is your favorite bad guy and why?
  3. Name your favorite fruit and why you chose it.
  4. What’s the most recent good book you read?
  5. If you could be anywhere at this moment (real or fictional), where would you appear?
  6. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
  7. On your blogsite, which is your favorite post and why?
  8. If you were drafted to live in a biosphere with strangers for a year, what (not who) would you miss most about your present life?
  9. What’s your trick to start writing for the day (or session)?
  10. What was your finest vacation experience?
  11. If you could live in anytime, when would you choose?

Thank you, M2, again for the nomination.  The five blogs I’ve nominated are certainly great finds if you’re not already following them.  Enjoy.

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in FORAGING, Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Liebster Award Nomination

  1. Jean Riddell says:

    Congratulations, Michelle. What a great award. Your answers and the questions you wrote are excellent. Good luck!

    Sent from my iPad

  2. mlknowlden says:

    Thanks, Jean. I was thinking about you and your proposed blog. Maybe now is the time to start one yourself, whatever you choose to call it.

  3. imagbigreader says:

    Congratulations on your nomination, Michelle!  🙂

    Kaye Klem

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

