Cover to cover

ships 2 2 copy_blue long heart beat     I’m happy to present the fabulous cover of my first Abishag mystery novella. Cover artist Bethany Barnette created this gem in record time. I am absolutely thrilled.

In other news–Ambrose Bierce once said: “The covers of this book are too far apart.” That is not true of the stories my good friend, horror and fantasy author, Debra Young writes. When I asked her to say one thing about her horror anthology Grave Shadows, she replied: “Written to disturb.”

The similarly succinct (I say with amusement) Grave Shadows is now available in paperback (with a new cover!).

 Grave_Shadows_Cover

Book description: Tales of regrets and desires, the grave shadows of the human psyche. A young man’s regret leads to disaster; a teen wishes he could change the past; a wife babies her husband in the worst way; and a fearful husband’s desperation takes a grave twist.  

I bought my copy; my library wouldn’t be complete without it. She writes a thinking person’s horror–no graphic violence, no gore but do expect to shiver. Enjoy.

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cover to cover

  1. Rebecca Lang says:

    Both covers are beautiful. Grave Shadows does sound intriguing.

  2. Hamed says:

    Who was the idiot that said “don’t judge by the cover”? This cover of yours shows the essence of your novella: Mystery.
    I loved it.
    One recommendation though:
    If the wave is an Electro Cardio graphic wave, there should be a tiny bump (P wave) and then a pit (Q) before each big-wave (QRS complex). That being said, this is authentic only if you had a healthy heart in mind.
    sorry for being so pedantic.

  3. mlknowlden says:

    Had to wiki that quote, Hamed. “Don’t judge a book by its cover” comes from George Eliot’s “The Mill on the Floss.” That’s ME being pedantic.
    Thank you for the kind compliment. I’ll pass it to Bethany. I’m ever so pleased with it myself.
    Very interesting information about the ECG. I’ll have to think about it. I would definitely change it if it were a medical mystery, but it is so not. It’s more about shipwrecks, blackmail, friendships, and how we comfort the dying.
    I’ll certainly be using this information in another story. Thank you for sparking inspiration.

  4. Hamed says:

    Happy to help
    i forgot to say I loved your blog and I’m really really happy for you publishing your book and all.
    Most definitely, it’s gonna be a success.

  5. mlknowlden says:

    Thank you! From your lips to God’s ears…

Leave a Reply

