Cold California Rain and Books to Warm Us

Yes, that was the Southern California sky just a few days ago. I walked the neighborhood with mittens and anything with a hood. The sight of those clouds strikes terror, doesn’t it?

Not that long ago, I rambled in the United Kingdom where rain was the norm and chilly days expected. My wimpy California self has returned. I didn’t venture out when I heard thunder or when the rain poured. Give me a few points for slogging through a few drizzles.

Truthfully it was good to stay inside, prepare taxes, write, and most of all–read! I listened to books on tape and actually opened the Kindle app and read some books. If you’re looking for books to warm your frosty toes, here’s a list of mysteries.

Sneaking in one of mine, here’s the first novella in the Abishag mystery quartet. In Sinking Ships, a college student marries a vegetative man in hospice and finds his hospice aide murdered on her wedding night. Set in Palos Verdes, California, it’s a cozy mystery for the young at heart. A steal at 99 cents.

I love medical mysteries! Just discovered Lethal Incision by Dobi Cross.

Chief surgical resident Zora Smyth is used to the atypical: the disappearance of her sister, false murder charges from a serial killer, and a brush with death. When nameless patients show up on her operating table and then disappear on her watch, Zora investigates. LETHAL INCISION is the second book in Dobi Cross’ suspense-filled series of medical thrillers. If you like page-turning medical thrillers filled with unexpected twists and intrigue, you will love LETHAL INCISION.

I’m working on a Young Adult Contemporary novel and looking for intriguing voices in this genre. Try Krista Wagner’s Intent: The Beginning.

When classmate Paul befriends Raylee, she is determined to ignore Crystal’s ploys. And when new student Billy arrives, Raylee finds herself drawn to his mysterious side, but Crystal will do whatever it takes to keep him from Raylee.

Full of deception and mind games amid a growing sense that danger is near, Intent: The Beginning will take you into a world where faith is tested, friendships are put at risk, and small town secrets are revealed.

You all know I love Rhondi Ann’s books. Here’s Lies & Promises the fabulous mystery that I’m currently reading with its brand new cover. Only $1.99!

It was bad enough Lauren’s ex betrayed her.
It was worse he got himself killed…
Now, Lauren must untangle his lies to find a promised international treasure using clues he left behind that only she can solve.
With a rescued war dog by her side, Lauren must separate the good guys from the bad, the truth from the past, and save herself before the murderer catches her too.

I was thrilled to find Greta Boris’s Sanctity of Sloth at audible.com. Loved listening to this book. The narrator was wonderful. Really made me forget the dreary weather. I gave it a five star review.

There’s one thing more dangerous than testifying to a crime—staying silent.
Locked in the ruins of a California Mission, Abby Travers watches helplessly as a girl dies outside her window.

The Sanctity of Sloth is a taut, psychological thriller. Fans of Paula Hawkins and A.J. Finn will enjoy this third book in Greta Boris’s Seven Deadly Sins Series.

If you like the books, I hope you’ll consider leaving a review on Amazon or Good Reads or audible.com. Reviews really do help author and readers!

One last picture to show you how far the snow has come down on slopes of the snowcapped mountains around Southern California. I took this picture from Fullerton amid a clutch of stunned Californians.

Happy reading! Michelle

Advertisements

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s