Doing Something Positive on Earth Day 2017

Earth Day 2017

Forget the hype, the litter left after the fundraiser marches, and the flood of sometimes dicey statistics, graphs, and theories of pseudoscientists. Let’s get real.

Stop talking, protesting, and Facebooking about what everyone else is NOT doing. Take action. Be a good steward. Do something to protect the environment.

Do something!

I have been a vegetarian since 2004. On 02 January 2017, I went hardcore: plant-based, whole foods diet. Mostly because of this:

Did you know that the meat industry is responsible for approximately 20% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions? In fact, producing one calorie of meat requires nearly twenty times the amount of energy as one plant calorie!

With global meat consumption tripling over the last four decades, the meat industry now emits over 36 billion tons of greenhouse gases annually and is showing no signs of slowing down. If we want to make a real dent in the world’s carbon footprint and reduce our own personal footprint, we need to eat less meat.

Join us in taking the pledge to not eat meat one day a week and become a part of the Meatless Monday movement!*

I read an odd statistic that said one person going meatless on Mondays was like ten people buying a Prius. Not sure if that makes sense. What does make sense is that I’ve been carrying the load of all the bacon burger eating Prius owners for fourteen years.

You’re welcome.

Going vegan is only one thing I do, but I need to get back to editing or I’d ramble on about kitchen gardens, compost piles, re-purposing clothing, grey water, oat milk, and berry soaks, and other ways I minimize my carbon footprint.

But enough about me! What are you doing to nurture God’s good earth? I really want to know.

Happy reading, eating, and doing something positive.

Michelle Knowlden

*http://www.earthday.org/limit-meat-consumption/

 

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Engineering, Food, Garden, Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Doing Something Positive on Earth Day 2017

  1. Rebecca Ifland says:

    I spent the morning managing the P-Patch compost piles. Lots of earth for earth day. ….

    On Apr 22, 2017 11:02 AM, “Michelle Knowlden writes…” wrote:

    > mlknowlden posted: ” Earth Day 2017 Forgetting the hype, the litter > left after the fundraiser marches, and the flood of sometimes dicey > statistics, graphs, and theories of pseudoscientists, let’s get down to > brass tacks. Stop talking, prote” >

  2. Sanyika says:

    Not only is today Earth Day, but it’s my birthday as well. I’ve accepted the challenge and will choose a day to go meatless! Hope you’re well!

    • mlknowlden says:

      Happy Birthday, Derryl! Yay! It’ll help you live longer too which makes me happy. I’m very well especially since you just put a smile on my face. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

