Saving My Life: A Day of Meals Part One

BACKGROUND

Since 2004, I’ve been experimenting with healthier and more mindful attitudes about health, the environment, climate change, God, compassion for animals and other cultures. To quiet irritated friends, my nutritionist, family and waitresses, I transitioned from Whole Foods, plant-based diet to lacto-0vo vegetarian with fish.  Not only did my carbon footprint increase and my health suffered, but my mindful attitude about the above went kaput.

With encouragement from my brother, recent studies and my orthopedic doctor, I returned to my original eating on 02 January 2017. Even with an 11 day break for a cruise, I’ve now lost ten pounds and feel fabulous.

To find out how this will save my life, check out the Food Choices and Forks over Knives documentaries, these websites: Nutrition Facts and Hallelujah Acres, and these books: The China Study and How Not To Die.

The hardest part is figuring out what to eat, yes?  After I emptied my pantry, gave away $65 worth of seafood and cleared my fridge, I did the following and saved loads in my grocery bill.

Top shelf of the pantry: cans of beans, jar of organic raspberry fruit spread, dried fruit, organic pumpkin.

Second shelf: jars from bulk lentils, rice, mixed beans, quinoa, oatmeal, mixed grains, raw nuts, and seeds.

Frozen fruit, pumpkin, and Food for Life breads in the freezer.  Fresh produce and herbal iced tea in the fridge.

This is a typical day of meals for me. The variety of whole food, plant based choices out there is endless. I hope to share more later. I hope you share yours with me!

A DAY OF EATING

Breakfast

Oatmeal (rolled) prepare per directions or in crockpot the night before.  No dairy required.  Mix with a 1/2 cup of fresh or frozen berries (thawed), tbsp of ground flax seed, tbsp of chia seeds, tsp of maple syrup (optional), 1/3 banana, a dash of cinnamon and a dash of cardamom.  All to your taste of course.

Lunch

Bean tacos  Use Food for Life corn tortillas. I also use Trader Joe’s. Cheap and simple ingredients. Canned vegan refried beans, rice on the tortillas. Bake for 15 minutes at 325 deg F. Top with avocado, tomatoes, onion, cilantro to taste. DEssert: half a small apple.

Snack

Almond butter and jam sandwich Use your preferred Food for Life bread.

Dinner

Roasted vegetables medley.  Boil a small sweet potato and a golden beet cut in chunks for ten minutes. Spread in a pie pan for one or cookie sheet for more. Cut Brussel sprouts in half and trim cauliflower into small sprigs.  Add carrots (I like rainbow colors) in equitable chunks. Spray lightly with olive oil (optional). Sprinkle with herbs of your choice (basil, cilantro, Mediterranean, paprika, etc). After roasting for 20 minutes at 375 F, add over rice and beans. I like sprouted California rice and red lentils. Dessert: three dates and a tbs of nut butter.

Thanks to Dr. Greger’s daily dozen in his How Not to Die book, I’m fully satisfied after eating and lost cravings almost immediately. I can’t wait to do my blood panels in six months.

Other good news this week …

SINKING SHIP NEWS

Sinking Ships Cover with Eric's pictureOC Writers is publishing a three part series on plotting, the fun and easy way.

Check out the first post at: http://ocwriters.network/2017/02/23/love-plot-part-1/

The Abishag mystery featured in the article is available at Amazon for 99cents.

Happy reading and eating!

Michelle Knowlden

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Engineering, Food, Garden, Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saving My Life: A Day of Meals Part One

  1. taristhread says:

    I’m so impressed and inspired by the healthy changes you’re making! Thank you for sharing, I’ll be interested to hear how your next blood panel is, although with what you’re doing, it should be stellar!

  2. Barbara says:

    Good post, Michelle.

Leave a Reply

