Getting There: Prescott, AZ Discovery Trip Part One

After the two women road trip adventure, I decided that I was up for a solo drive. On September 17, I jumped in my trusty 2011 Elantra, recently outfitted with new tires and shocks, and set my navigation system for the 450 mile trip to Prescott, Arizona.

Summary of timeline and metrics: I left Southern California at 9:30 and arrived safely in Prescott, AZ at 5:30. I stopped briefly in Rancho Mirage and Quartsite. Gas is 70 cents cheaper in the latter Arizona town. What with the gusts and the mountains, not to mention the idling, my average mpg was 30.

Scarcely out of my county, I encountered an accident at the 57/60 interchange where I sat for nearly an hour. I almost returned home to try again Sunday. Traffic stalled again near Oak Glen for 30 minutes.

Taking the AZ 60/71/89 route from the 10 freeway was an adventure and one I will probably not do again. No traffic on any of the interchanges. One lane in either direction. It did cut 70 miles and 90 minutes from the drive. BUT the 60 was sparsely populated. A good place for Breaking Bad, but not Breaking Down. AND the 89 was 23 miles of hairpin turns looking 3000 feet down. Scary! Later conversations with Prescott residents led me to believe that I was unnecessarily hysterical. Uh huh.

img_2733I tried the Phoenix route on the return. Stay tuned for that report, but I look forward to a route of the jerky stands and gun shops I know and love.

My family’s new home is lovely (photo of the view from the deck showing San Francisco Hills and the Dells). I’m finding Prescott immediately appealing. Stay tuned for daily hikes and local events like wild animals, tarantulas, and Pow Wows.

Trip report respectfully submitted by Michelle K

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

