A Cover for LILLIAN IN THE DOORWAY

lillian with shoes copyFor my first romance novel, a 1924 suspense set in Southern California, I’ll be using a pen name: Michelle Dutton. Not because it’s a naughty romance; it’s a squeaky clean one. I’d always intended to use different author names for different genres, and I’d never intended to use my name. I started publishing in the early ’90s under my real name in mysteries and science fiction. For various reasons, I continued to do so. Now that I’m doing something entirely new, I can finally use a name that’s easier to find and remember.

You get to see the LILLIAN IN THE DOORWAY cover here first. For me, it reflects the sass, the time period, the romance, and the intrigue in the book. Bethany Barnette is my cover artist, and I think she scored a home run.

The book description for LILLIAN IN THE DOORWAY: Orange Ranch Brides Book One is

How far would you go to protect the ones you love?

When Chicago gangsters killed her detective boss, Lillian Pratt fled to California. Now living with a new identity, she teaches Americanization classes on orange ranches. To appease her fellow boardinghouse teachers, she agrees to a fake engagement with the local pharmacist, Jens Schreiber, a German widower beleaguered by his own friends to remarry.

As the phony romance turns real, Lillian’s past lands on the boardinghouse doorstep. She must face gangsters, ghosts, and Jens’ fearsome mother or flee again to save the ones she loves.

The book is scheduled to be released September 20th. Stay tuned!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cover for LILLIAN IN THE DOORWAY

  1. Kaye Klem says:

    Michelle–
    Good luck with your venture into romance fiction!

    Kaye

Leave a Reply

