An Explosion of Eggplants

Most days for lunch, I make a Mediterranean sandwich in a dinner roll which includes baba ghanoush, olive tapenade, arugula, basil, balsamic and olive oil, and a roasted tomato.  I make my own baba ghanoush and it’s a delight to pick eggplants fresh from the garden for it.

Flowers on the Shikosu Japanese Eggplant

Since June, my four eggplant varieties have kept up with my demand for the veggie.  The bees and I love seeing those flowers, hoping that most will transform into eggplants.  Over the past few months, I’ve battled squirrels, palm rats, mourning doves, and pill bugs for my fair share.  But no worries in the past few weeks!  Three of the plants are producing like troopers.

Today I made a pint and a half of baba ghanoush from one Shikosu and one Kyoto Egg eggplants.  That’ll last me two weeks.  

Shikosu Japanese eggplants ready to harvest

Shikosu Japanese eggplants ready to harvest

My baba ghanoush is easy to make: I roast eggplant slices that have been shaken with garlic olive oil.  Then I add them in the Magic Bullet with two tablespoons of tahini, juice from half a small lemon and a dash of salt.  I thin with water as needed.  It makes a nice paste for spreading on the sandwich.

I’ll take eggplant to church tomorrow and some to the physical therapist next week.  His wife is Persian and she loves to make eggplant sandwiches.  She’ll saute the eggplant and stuff it between slices of bread.

Kyoto Eggplant guarded by a Ladybug

Kyoto Eggplant guarded by a Ladybug

Maybe I should make an eggplant parmesan tonight ….  I could slice the eggplant thin, coat with olive oil and almond flour, saute them in coconut oil.  Then I’d cover with a marinara sauce and shaved parmesan cheese, and bake.  That sounds yummy.

If you have eggplant recipe ideas, I’d love to hear them.

Happy eating!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Explosion of Eggplants

  1. Kaye Klem says:

    Michelle– I love eggplant, though I’m not as inspired and energetic as you are with your yummy sounding recipes. Kaye

  2. dayya says:

    Note to self–next eggplant season, dinner at Michelle’s, eggplant parmesan!

Leave a Reply

