April 2015 First Friday Breakfast with an Author

fasano_heartOn the first Friday of April 2015, we are having breakfast with USA Today Bestselling Author Donna Fasano. Donna has written over 30 romance and women’s fiction books. Her books have sold nearly 4 million copies worldwide and have been published in two dozen languages.

Her novel, Following His Heart, won Best Romance of 2015 by Big Al’s Books and Pals Reader’s Choice.

For this April breakfast, I’m going minimalist with a hard-boiled egg atop shredded red oak lettuce, sprinkled with chia seeds and drizzled with white truffle olive oil. Donna, what are you having for your virtual breakfast? 

I’m enjoying plump, juicy blueberries, strawberries, pineapple, and bananas topped with a dollop of Greek yogurt that’s been sweetened with a bit of honey. Mmmm!

That sounds wonderful! I actually have those ingredients in my fridge. Tell us about your writing process from concept to draft to revision.

I always spend lots of time with my characters before I begin to write their stories. I get to know them, their hopes and dreams, as well as all their foibles and flaws, and only then will I sit down and write up an outline. I see an outline as a roadmap. You can’t know where you’re going unless you’ve charted your route. Of course, that’s never a guarantee that my characters won’t take off on a little jaunt down an unknown side road. I always follow to see what they have in mind, and they rarely waste my time. If my characters take an unexpected turn, it usually means the book will be stronger and more entertaining. After I finish the first draft of a book, I read/edit the manuscript at least two more times. Then I send the manuscript to my team–5 hawk-eyed people who edit and beta-read for me. While they have the manuscript, I’m hard at work with a cover designer. It’s a pretty smooth process when everything goes according to plan.

Interesting and similar to my own process. Cheers for our beta readers! Tell us about The Ocean City Boardwalk Series while I top off your Oolong tea. Why this series, why now?  fasano_heart

I love the beach, plain and simple. I have wanted to write a series set in a beach town for some time. Following His Heart is the first book of The Ocean City Boardwalk Series. It features three women who have been friends their whole lives. They work together on the boardwalk. The books will feature the special bonds of friendship these women share, and of course each of them will find the love of her life.

What did you find fun/intriguing about writing Following His Heart and what was difficult?

I read an article about organ donation, and how one particular organ recipient reacted to her transplant. I was intrigued and researched further to find some fascinating stories so I decided to use this as one of the themes in the book. Sara is a widow who lost her husband in a tragic motorcycle accident and hasn’t been able to move past her grief. Landon arrives in Ocean City, Maryland, feeling a strange sense that he’s finally come home. Sara and Landon are attracted to one another, but they must deal with a complicated reality. fasano_Christmas

The series also includes a novella called An Almost Perfect Christmas.

Tell us about your next project and when it may be published.

I am currently writing the second book of the series. I hope Heather’s story will be ready for publication this summer.

A side note from me. I’ve also read Derrick in Donna’s The Single Daddy Club series and can heartily recommend it. While traveling, I’m enjoying The Merry-Go-Round. Check it out.

Thank you for visiting with us, Donna. Let me pour us all another virtual cup of Oolong tea.

Thank you!

Learn more about Donna Fasano and her books at:

Amazon link for Following His Heart at http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00QQRIKXA/

… and for An Almost Perfect Christmas at http://www.amazon.com/Almost-Perfect-Christmas-Boardwalk-Novella-ebook/dp/B00NVKCSOM/

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Donna-Fasano/e/B001HCXJW6/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaFasanoAuthor

Blog: http://donnafasano.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/donnafaz

Pinterest: https://pinterest.com/donnafaz

Happy reading!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Food, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to April 2015 First Friday Breakfast with an Author

  1. Donna Fasano says:

    Michelle, thank you so much for this opportunity to meet your blog followers. You’re the best! 🙂

    • mlknowlden says:

      I sure enjoyed sharing breakfast and writerly conversation with you, Donna! I decided to have your b’fast for Saturday morning. Thank you for the inspiration all around.

  2. Cynthia M. says:

    Great interview. I love the Single Daddy series. Donna is an awesome author.

  3. What a nice interview, Michelle – I love getting to know one of my favorite authors a little better and getting a glimpse of how she creates the magic on the pages. I just loved “Following His Heart” and “An Almost Perfect Christmas” was one of my favorite reads of 2014…two books I would recommend to anyone!

  4. All of the books mentioned are excellent; I highly recommend them.

  5. What a yummy breakfast! Interesting about the organ donor stories – the strangest things can happen. I really enjoyed this book and am looking forward to the 2nd!

  6. Love Donnas books and can not wait to read Following His Heart x

  7. Karen Kenyon Miller says:

    Sounds like an interesting premise for a story.

  8. Linda McKinney says:

    What an interesting concept for a blog post! Nicely done, Michelle. I’ll have a look around while I am here.

    I love Ms. Fasano’s books, I think I have nearly read them all. 😀 And I am looking forward to her next book in her Ocean City Boardwalk Series. 😀

  9. Patricia Roque says:

    Great interview with Donna Fasano! I could talk to her all day long. I’m looking forward to reading her Ocean City Boardwalk series. My favorite to date is The Merry-Go-Round. 👍

  10. del227 says:

    I’m a Fangirl of Donna! Love her books and yummy breakfast too!

Leave a Reply

