March 2015 First Friday Breakfast with an Author

BrideCover new font banner test.inddOn the first Friday of March 2015, we are having breakfast with author Susan R. Hughes. Her contemporary and historical romances have charmed readers and are set mainly in Canada. Her eight contemporary books include the Eastport series. The second book, Kiss the Bridesmaid, is shown here. Another contemporary, A Baby for Christmas, was a favorite read for me during the holiday.

Susan lives in Ottawa, Ontario, with her husband and three children.

For this March breakfast, I’m having a Trader Joe’s cheese blintz topped with pineapple, blueberries, banana, pecans, and drizzled with white peach balsamic and olive oil. Susan, what are you having for your virtual breakfast? 

Eggs Benedict with a side of crispy bacon, orange juice, and coffee.

Yum! Tell us about your writing process from concept to draft to revision.

I’m not very organized. I usually start with an outline and a brief sketch of my main characters, but a lot can change as I go along and new ideas are generated. I don’t necessarily write the opening scene first. I start with whichever scene I’ve visualized most clearly. After I’ve done a few chapters, I pass them to my friend Adele, and I keep feeding her chapters as I go. I find that having someone waiting for more is the best motivation to keep going. After the first draft is complete, if I have time, I will put the manuscript aside for a while before going back to it with fresher eyes to do revisions.

I love that you have a story keeper! Wonderful accountability. Tell us about THE EASTPORT SERIES while I top of your coffee. Why this series, why now? 

Secret Vow cover new font test.inddThe Eastport series began with Secret Vow, which I set in the fictional town of Eastport, Ontario. When I was asked to write a novella for a wedding boxed set, I decided to use the wedding of Brooke and Ian from Secret Vow as the backdrop for a new romance set in the same town. A series was born! Book three is Forever Your Valentine, which centers on Brooke’s childhood best friend, Faith, and features some of the characters from the first two books.

What did you find fun/intriguing about writing Forever Your Valentine and what was difficult?

Valentine cover test font.indd

I found it intriguing to dig into Faith’s traumatic childhood and figure out what makes her tick. She’s a bit of a prickly character in the first book, but she has reasons for being insecure. Forever Your Valentine allows her to break free from her past. The most difficult part was learning about hockey in creating the character of Cole, a former pro hockey player. My husband was very helpful.

Tell us about your next project and when it may be published.

The fourth book in my Music Box series, Believe in Me, will be released very soon. It picks up in 1977, when Ethan (who was a baby in the second book and a small boy in the third) sets out to find his birth mother who abandoned him. From there he discovers long-buried mysteries about his family history—with the help of a free-spirited young woman named Tess.

1950sCover final.inddA side note from me. Her historical romances are included in the Music Box series. Last year I was captivated with the third book, Heart’s Desire.  

Thank you for visiting with us, Susan. Let me pour us all another virtual cup of coffee.

Learn more about Susan R Hughes and her books at:

Amazon link for Forever Your Valentinehttp://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ROEQUM2/

Website: www.susanrhughes.weebly.com

Blog: http://authorsofmainstreet.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Susan-R-Hughes/150348171749025

Twitter: @Susan_R_Hughes

Happy reading!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to March 2015 First Friday Breakfast with an Author

  1. Rebecca Lang says:

    I think it’s great you have a friend to pass chapters to. I do the same with my dad. It’s nice to have that support.

    • mlknowlden says:

      We don’t do that often as we both are busy and aware of how precious time is. Yes, it is nice to have friends or a critique group who will give encouragement along with an honest opinion!

Leave a Reply

