Setting 2015 Goals to Do Something Courageous

I love those moments. I like to wave at them as they pass by.  Jack Sparrow to Elizabeth Swann on the chance to do something courageous

I love goal setting. It’s an opportunity to examine a year and achieve many things challenging and brave. I’ve never understood people who only set one or two resolutions. I’ve set as many as 87 and as few as 18. People who set no goals are as incomprehensible to me as drinking diet soda. A fizzle of bubbles that ends flat.

In 2014, I published five books. I completed NaNoWriMo with two new manuscripts. Last summer, I took two writing cruises through glaciers and Caribbean islands. Outside of writing and in goals set in other posts, I have done over 14,000 pushups. I have knitted over 400 hats for the USO. I completed my tenth year of working in a soup kitchen every six months.

Slide1For 2015, my general writing plan is to publish three novels, one short story, and one novella. OLIVE TOMORROW, a mystery novel, is close to being finished. It still needs to be vetted by my beta readers. The other two novel goals are revising and publishing LILLIAN IN THE DOORWAY, a 1924 romance and GRI RISING, a quest fantasy. I’m co-authoring a YA dystopic short story for a traditionally published anthology this month (or next). THE ADMIRAL OF SIGNAL HILL is a mystery novella written during NaNoWriMo last November. It also needs to be revised.  (Yes, my schedule to achieve my goals is intentionally too small to read.)

My brother and I are still revising our mystery novel FATHERS IN THE MOOR. It’s currently a fairly mature manuscript.

I will also do NaNoWriMo again in November. I’m considering the following story ideas for the 30 day novel: Shadowing Behr (an new YA dystopic novel), Sadie (sequel to LILLIAN), Oyster Lover (sequel to OLIVE TOMORROW), and a novella sequel to JACK FELL DOWN.

Other general goals are to continue marketing the Abishag mystery quartet and the mystery novella JACK FELL DOWN. I’m considering untried publishing venues for previously released books and traditional markets for two or three of the manuscripts I’ll complete this year.

I also plan to attend OCC RWA, Fictionaires, Sisters in Crime meetings, author teas, and the Literary Orange conference; monthly meetings with my accountability partner; writing sprints and meet-ups as they occur.

The goals I mention here are ones I’ve shared with my writing accountability partner and another writing friend. And now with you. It’s good to publish goals and track them month-to-month. It’s how I keep the opportunity to do something brave from passing me by.

What courageous things would you like to do in 2015?

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Setting 2015 Goals to Do Something Courageous

  1. LJ Sherlock says:

    New year’s plans 2015
    By LJ Sherlock
    Drink more water to refresh skin and taste
    Toss out Diet Coke, no time to waste
    Write a poem each week on Monday
    To make it into a fun day
    Writing/drawing expressing creativity
    Weekly must be done
    Out in the open; under the sun
    Find a nook
    To read a book
    Go on an adventure or two
    Time to spend with just Becky and you
    Exercise of the brain is good, but what about the body?
    I need to build it too. Making time to do more regularly; less spotty
    Find a group with which you identify
    To learn and grow and to teach others how to fly
    School in session six weeks at a time
    After all, I’ve got a ladder to climb.

  2. Rebecca Lang says:

    I like setting goals, but I also like diet soda. So am I only partially incomprehensible? Btw, I can’t believe how much writing you have scheduled to go. I can barely get a novel a year. you’re amazing.

Leave a Reply

