The Grimm Side of Jack Fell Down

I’m in the heights and dregs of NaNoWriMo. Although I took yesterday off, I’m doing well. I passed the 20K mark and am enjoying the process. I decided to write a prequel to the Boardinghouse Brides’ book which is actually a mystery set in 1922 Long Beach, California. I get to write about Buster Keaton filming on Signal Hill, fossils in caverns, and the remaining horrors of war.

After my brain is fried, I retreat to knitting USO hats and slipper socks for Christmas. While knitting, I watch back-to-back episodes of GRIMM. I love that show. I love Monroe. I love we get to meet a new monster, forgive me–a new Veson, every week. A monster that lives in human form.

JACKE FELL DOWN COVER 4500 X 2820)I haven’t written much about where the backstory came from in JACK FELL DOWN. The hobbyist detective can no longer work as a teacher since her mysterious accident so she searches for missing children. The monster that would steal children is present in the stories but it is also present in the delusions that plague her. It is present in the choices taken by her past students. It is present in dark Santa Ana alleys and on inviting Laguna shores.

The people who fight monsters fascinate me. Whether, like Monroe and Pam Graff, they also battle their own monsters, or like the Grimm and Aunt Ivy, for whom it is their calling, these heroes take up their saber and stand ready to protect the ones they love.

And aren’t those the heroes worth watching? Which makes me wonder: what kind of hero will I be today …

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in WRITING and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

