Touring Five Breakfasts

A reader requested pictures of my breakfasts from the First Friday Breakfast with An Author series so here is my Valentine’s Day gift to you all. Can you detect a theme?

Note: all breakfasts shown in the pictures are presented on salad plates.

Mango Arugula salad with Baguette and Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

Mango Arugula salad with Baguette and Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

For the February interview with Michael H Payne, I had an arugula salad topped with a half banana, mango, blueberries, pecans and white truffle olive oil, a small baguette slice smeared with roasted cherry tomatoes, and blueberry coffee. The salad is self-explanatory (and a typical winter one for me) but let me tell you about the roasted cherry tomato spread. Author Debra Young gave me the recipe for slow roasting tomatoes (usually heirloom) for two hours after dousing the tomatoes in olive oil mixed with thyme. After spreading the roasted tomatoes on the baguette, she will often sprinkle with feta cheese. I added a cilantro sprig to mine. Total prep time: 12 minutes.

Dukkah-frosted Banana Salad with Egg and Croissant

Dukkah-frosted Banana Salad with Egg and Croissant

For the January breakfast with Kaye Klem, I prepared an easy breakfast inspired by a comment from mystery writer Jane Isaac the previous month: I like to mix the healthy with the harmful. January’s breakfast included a hard-boiled egg seasoned with kelp and smoked paprika; a half banana rolled in dukkah, sliced and mixed with arugula and blueberries then drizzled with white truffle olive oil; a small, fresh-baked croissant with a dab of apricot jam; a mocha cappuccino. Another typical winter breakfast salad but instead of my usual fried egg, I hard-boiled this one probably knowing that it would all be accompanied by the croissant. I bought the mini croissant dough from Trader Joe’s, let it rise over night, baked for approximately 20 minutes, and ate with organic apricot preserves. I probably wouldn’t do the dukkah again–that spice is better with fish or dusted on a savory salad. Dusting bananas with ground flax-seed and cinnamon is wonderful. Total prep time: 17 minutes.

Raw Buckwheat Groat porridge with seeds, nuts, and fruit from the garden

Raw Buckwheat Groat porridge with seeds, nuts, and fruit from the garden

Raw Buckwheat groats is my go-to-breakfast when I want something both vegan and one I can savor slowly. I enjoyed a bowl with my June 2013 interview with author Neal Shusterman. See A Mindful Bowl of Buckwheat Groats post for details.

Although the porridge does include nuts and seeds, I usually feel a drop in energy after eating it. (Don’t quote me, but maybe we really are omnivores.) Definitely a lazy day meal to enjoy on hot summer mornings. If you exercise after eating breakfast (and I’m a big proponent for exercising before), consider having an egg.

Protein Pancake with pecans and fruit

Protein Pancake with pecans and fruit

When fruit is plentiful here in late spring to fall, I’ll sometimes prepare a protein pancake with an avalanche of fruit. For the October 2013 breakfast with author Debra Young, I whipped up a pumpkin protein pancake (pumpkin, basil, cottage cheese, eggs and oatmeal) topped with banana, Peter’s Honey Fig (from my garden), mango and blackberries, sprinkled with lime infused olive oil and crushed pecans. Total prep time: 16 minutes.

Fried Egg Sandwich with apricot-fig-arugula salad

Fried Egg Sandwich with apricot-fig-arugula salad

If time gets away from me in the morning (as it did today), I’ll combine breakfast with lunch in an egg sandwich. I talked about this in the post Timelines and a Fried Egg Sandwich. I took one slice of Trader Joe’s Sprouted flourless whole-wheat berry bread, and butter liberally on one side with organic extra virgin coconut oil. On the unbuttered side, I placed basil leaves from my garden and top with a slice of cheese. (I like extra sharp cheddar but used Swiss today. Raw cheese is fabulous.) Broil or toast or bake in oven.  I added the fried egg (see healthy prep instructions in the post) onto the melted, bubbling cheese with thinly sliced cucumber and green zebra tomato slices from my garden. For an accompanying salad, I topped arugula with diced apricot and Peter Honey figs from my garden, crushed pecans, French tarragon leaves also from my garden, and lemon olive oil. Total prep time: 14 minutes.

I hope you enjoyed this breakfast tour with me. I’m always looking for variations to my diet. What’s your favorite breakfast?

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Touring Five Breakfasts

  1. Rebecca Lang says:

    I love the photos. I really do like hearing about your unusual breakfasts. Right now mine consists of English muffins topped with cream cheese and honey.

  2. dayya says:

    Wonderful post! Thanks for the mention, d:) The photos are marvelous. 🙂

  3. dayya says:

    One of my favorite breakfasts is potatoes with bits of green pepper and onion and smoked sausage. Sometimes I sprinkle it with feta cheese. d:)

Leave a Reply

