Camellias Blooming and Scrolls Unrolling

Huntington 1-25-14 022After a quick caprese sandwich at Alicia’s, four of us jetted to Huntington Library in San Marino. I found a bench in the midst of blooming camellias to plan my February writing and began revising another draft of the third Abishag mystery, Riddle in Bones.

While a squirrel hunted for nuts around me, I sketched out a daily timetable–six days each week–including healthy eating, exercise, and tasks to neaten my work area. My goal is to have a final draft of Riddle in Bones by the end of February…and be a tad healthier too.

Huntington 1-25-14 007 Chinese New YearIn the distance, between the Boone and Steele galleries, singers and dancers celebrated the Chinese New Year with music, stories, and streamers. Red-orange paper lanterns hung in trees throughout the campus. After revising four chapters of Riddle in Bones, I headed for the Chinese garden. From Huntington’s website, I read: A Chinese garden is often compared to a work of art: It is like a scroll painting composed of carefully arranged scenes. As you stroll through the pathways and pavilions of Liu Fang Yuan, new vistas are revealed as if a scroll were being slowly unrolled.

Huntington 1-25-14 167 tea and bookThankful to find the tea house nearly deserted, I ordered my iced silver dragon jasmine tea (needed something cool–nearly 80F today in San Marino) and a flaky black bean cake. I added notes to my February plan before my friends joined me, enjoying my own celebration of the New Year at the edge of a pavilion, in the shadow of a standing stone.

Second Abishag mystery update: I’m in the final stages of formatting Indelible Beats and finessing its book description. I’m aiming for it to be released on Amazon this week but oh the power of distraction and unforeseen events to disrupt our plans.

Yet hope is a divining rod in a parched land. When I look to the horizon, I see a scroll slowly unrolling.

Happy New Year!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Camellias Blooming and Scrolls Unrolling

  1. Rebecca Lang says:

    Gotta love those squirrels. Hope all your February plans come true.

  2. I can’t wait to read your second book. The lead-in with the first chapter hooked me right away. Write on, sister. Write on!

  3. Laura Hoyle says:

    Oh, l remember the times I went with you to the Huntington Library many moons ago and I loved the peacefulness of the Chinese garden, no matter how many people where there. Michelle, I just finished your first Abishag book and it was wonderful. I can’t wait to get started on the next one.

    • mlknowlden says:

      Thank you, Laura! When you’re ready to go again, let me know. We can enjoy a glass of jasmine tea together.

      Thank you for your kind words about SINKING SHIPS. You made my day!

Leave a Reply

