NaNoWriMo and other news

Had a small bobble with the formatter so the first Abishag Mystery novella will be published (hopefully) next week.  As someone said to me recently–there is much waiting in the writing game.

2013-Winner-Square-ButtonGood news, I did validate my 52,639 words at the NaNoWriMo site this rainy morning.  I actually reached 50K earlier this week but hoped to reach 60K by the end of the month.  No worries–I aim to reach my goal of finishing three novellas (in various states) by December 01.

I had an extra special Thanksgiving yesterday.  I’m so grateful to our NaNo writing cohort of 17.  Each member holds a special spot in my heart.  Thank you for inspiring me.

I plan doing a small retreat (if weather permits) at the Arboretum Saturday to brainstorm ideas for the next Missing Child mystery.  December 7th I’ll be meeting for the traditional 2013 Writing Assessment Dinner.  All smiles for a fruitful year; I’m already looking forward to the 2014 planning.

We have a wonderful Friday Breakfast with an Author next week.  See you then!

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMo and other news

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Update: Happy Thankswriting! | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

  2. Rebecca Lang says:

    Thank you so much for inspiring us, encouraging us, and competing with some of us for highest word count. Congrats on reaching your goal.

    • mlknowlden says:

      Thanks, Becky. It was a terrific November for me, in what I finished and spending time with our cohort. Congratulations to crossing the 50K line first and for creating a hefty new manuscript.

Leave a Reply

