Anchors Away on Abishag #1 and Christmas on Main Street

SINKING SHIPS: An Abishag’s First Mystery novella update

ships 2 2 copy_blue long heart beatOn Tuesday, I sent Sinking Ships, the first novella in a new mystery series, to the formatter.  I can no longer make any changes which means two things.  One: I feel a great relief in filing this document and a great release to focus on other projects.  Two: I feel adrift because I can no long fuss with Sinking Ships’ edits and now must focus on other projects.

We’re counting down the days to the Kindle release of the e-novella, the first of four in Abishag series.  During this brief limbo, I have a question: If you were a female college student deep in debt, would you consider signing a contract to be an Abishag wife?  See the definition below.

from Sinking Ships: In 2002 the US Congress, recognizing the need to standardize the practice of using Abishag wives as part of hospice care, limited providers to certified agencies and Abishag wives to licensed personnel. While an Abishag wife signs a marriage certificate with the patient’s power of attorney, it is the agency contract that defines her role, income during the patient’s last days, and severance pay upon the patient’s death.

If you’re not female, what would you think if your sister, daughter or girlfriend applied?

A Light in the Christmas Cafe

My good friend Kristy Tate published a new book this month, perfect for the Christmas season: A Light in the Christmas Cafe.  She collaborated with eleven other authors to offer her book and theirs in a special Christmas on Main Street box set for only 99 cents.  I’ve already sent the set to several friends and family, near and far.  Less than the cost of a holiday card, it will provide hours of enjoyment.

If you enjoy Kristy’s novel, please consider leaving a review at the Amazon site.  Books live and die by reviews.

If we don’t talk before next Thursday, HAPPY THANKSGIVING.

About mlknowlden

In 2011, I left engineering to write full-time. Between the years 1992 and 2011, I’ve published 14 stories with Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine that have featured the hypochondriac detective Micky Cardex and two stories that did not. The 1998 story “No, Thank You, John” was nominated for a Shamus award. Many of these stories have been included in anthologies and translated in multiple languages. With Neal Shusterman, I’ve also published a science fiction story for the More Amazing Stories anthology (Tor) published in 1998 and co-authored with Neal Shusterman an X-Files Young Adult novel (DARK MATTER) for HarperCollins in 1999 under the name Easton Royce. For Simon & Schuster in July 2012, we published an e-novella UNSTRUNG in Neal's UNWIND world. I have graduate degrees in English and Electrical Engineering.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, WRITING and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Anchors Away on Abishag #1 and Christmas on Main Street

  1. Rebecca Lang says:

    I’m not sure if you’re definition of an Abishag wife is clear, but since I’ve Beta read your novel I know that the primary duty of an Abishag wife is to lie in bed, awake, with her husband, a comatose and dying man, in order to bestow comfort and companionship in his last hours on earth.

    I personally wouldn’t want to be a Abishag wife because: a. I’d be too shy to meet the family of the dying man, b. I’m creeped out by dead bodies and wouldn’t want to run the risk of being in the same bed as one, and c. I would not be happy about losing that much sleep.

    Random thought: in this age of gender equality, is there such a thing as Abishag husbands?

  2. mlknowlden says:

    Made me laugh with the last reason not to be an Abishag wife.
    I’ve had several people ask me about Abishag husbands. I never address it in the first three novellas and am pretty sure that I won’t address it in the 4th–haven’t so far. In certain aspects of society, I’d need convincing that gender equality exists.

    • dayya says:

      Indeed. There are some cultural/gender-based traditions and customs that equality cannot eradicate. I’m eager to read this novella series. By the way, I would not be an Abishag wife ’cause I’m only interested in lying next to a dead hody if it has fangs.

      • mlknowlden says:

        Thank you! You gave me an early morning chuckle.
        I must say that it’s sometimes guys who ask me why I haven’t considered Abishag husbands for comatose elderly women.

  3. imagbigreader says:

    Michelle–

    It’s such a clever and original premise for fiction!

    I’m still not quite clear on what an Abishag wife actually does. Caregiving? Non-physical companionship for the dying husband? Being able to sign off on a Do Not Resuscitate order as a part of compassionate care?

    You say below she gets power of attorney. That wouldn’t allow her to make medical decisions, I don’t think. Only financial ones probably. Power of attorney would let her keep grasping relatives from looting his money perhaps.

    Great story all the same!

    Kaye Klem

    • mlknowlden says:

      Thank you, Kaye!
      The Abishag doesn’t have power of attorney; she signs the marriage certificate as the wife and the comatose husband’s power of attorney (usually a family member) signs for him. The Abishag is a caregiver with 89 rules of conduct and little say in anything.

Leave a Reply

